Plant & Works Engineering
2021 AEMT Awards winners announced
Published:  20 December, 2021

The Winners of the 2021 AEMT Awards were announced during a Gala Presentation Ceremony in Coventry on Thursday 18 November. The event was attended by some two hundred people from across the electrical and mechanical trades arena. Having been postponed from its original 2020 dateline due to the pandemic, there was a great deal of anticipation ahead of the event with all attendees eager to reunite and re-engage with their colleague and peers.

This year’s Awards programme again attracted some excellent entries across the seven categories, with all the Finalists being deemed to be of the highest quality by the independent judging panel.

The Judging Session, which was this year held virtually via a Zoom Meeting, once again used comprehensive assessment protocols and a supporting ‘points scoring system’ to determine the Finalists in each category. This process also identified the category Winners, although this information was kept secret until being revealed by the category sponsors during the prestigious Awards Ceremony.

Commenting on the awards dinner, Thomas Marks, Secretary and General Manager at the AEMT said: “We were delighted with the entire event from start to finish. The venue, food and drink were all excellent, the stage-set and overall presentation was fantastic, and our afterdinner speaker, Alfie Moore, was simply brilliant. But for me, just seeing so many people from across our sector coming together to recognise and celebrate the excellent work which it collectively conducts every day, is simply wonderful. Sincere congratulations go to each of the Finalists and of course to the eventual Winners.”

The 2021 AEMT Awards Winners are as follows:

PRODUCT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by PLANT & WORKS ENGINEERING Menzel Motors: IP67 Motors - Defy Flood Conditions

PROJECT OF THE YEAR Sponsored by EMiR SOFTWARE Fletcher Moorland: iBOT PCB Card Refurbishment


SUPPLIER OF THE YEAR Sponsored by DRIVES & CONTROLS Preformed Windings


RISING STAR AWARD Sponsored by FANUC UK Jack Rowe, Fletcher Moorland

DIVERSITY IN ENGINEERING AWARD Sponsored by PREFORMED WINDINGS Joint Winner - Central Group Joint Winner - Heasell Electromechanical Services

LIFETIME CONTRIBUTION AWARD Sponsored by AEMT Tim Marks (Retired) Tim was presented with this prestigious award for being the person who has probably put more work into the AEMT than anyone else in the history of the organisation, except maybe the founders. He served on the AEMT council in the 80’s and was President of the AEMT twice in the 90’s. At the turn of the millennium Tim became secretary to the association on a part time basis, which very soon became a fulltime job. In the 20 years since, the association has grown from strength to strength, and has become a global association representing, promoting, and supporting members from all over the world. It built up a strong pool of reserves under his stewardship which has enabled the association to weather the turbulence we faced last year. He has been convenor of the standards committee which brought us the new and completely overhauled repair standard for rotating machinery; the first standard to mention the circular economy and the importance of considering a repair over a replacement