Plant & Works Engineering
AEMT Awards 2017 winners announced
Published:  17 January, 2018

The winners of the first Association of Electrical and Mechanical Trades (AEMT) Awards 2017 have been revealed at a ceremony held at the Doubletree Hilton Hotel, Coventry, on 29th November. The black-tie dinner event, saw 150 people from across the country gather to celebrate the best achievements in the electrical and mechanical trade sector.

The opening speech from Gary Downes, President of the AEMT, emphasised that the next Industrial Revolution is happening now, and how innovation is important for the future success of the industry.

A total of six awards were given out to businesses and professionals involved in the manufacture, sales, service & repair of rotating electrical machinery. The winners were:

1. Technical Innovation of the Year – Product

(sponsored by Plant & Works Engineering):

ServiceView, by Fletcher Moorland

2. Technical Innovation of the Year – Project

(sponsored by EMIR Software):

Modification and installation of a new, third party supplied, process control panel, containing a softstart unit, by Central Group

3. Industry Supplier of the Year

(sponsored by Fletcher Moorland):


4. Contribution to Skills & Training

(sponsored by WEG UK):

Houghton International Apprentice Programme

5. Rising Star Award

(sponsored by TEC Electric Motors):

Ryan Davis, from Rotamec

6. Lifetime Contribution

(sponsored by the AEMT):

David Bowers, from Bowers Electricals, who has been attending AEMT meetings since its inception back in 1945

Thomas Marks, Secretary of the AEMT, commented: “The industry is full of heroes who have until now, not had the opportunity to be recognised officially for the outstanding work they do. It was fabulous to finally recognise and celebrate all the good work of these people through the inaugural AEMT Awards. To date, this has been the largest event the AEMT has hosted, and the positive feedback from the evening’s guests has marked the ceremony as a triumphant success! I’m really looking forward to seeing more innovations and stories of success next year.”