Plant & Works Engineering
Motion Control excellence celebrated and rewarded
Published:  10 May, 2016

The inaugural Motion Control Industry Awards took place at the National Conference Centre on 12 April. Supported by some of the biggest names in the motion control arena, and with 250 people in attendance, the Awards evening was organised to coinside with the Drives & Controls, Air-Tech, Fluid Power & Systems, European Offshore Energy and Plant & Asset Management Exhibitions, which took place between the 12-14th April.

Commenting on the overall reaction to this new awards programme and presentation dinner, Chris Buxton, CEO at the BFPA said: “As one of the founding Stakeholders in this initiative, we are delighted with the support shown by our Sponsors and Media Partners. Their belief, confidence and commitment, enabled this industry wide awards programme to be developed, and bolstered by that engagement, we have come through on our promise to deliver a truly wonderful evening of reward and celebration for our industry.” He added: “The awards ceremony was a fitting conclusion to the year-long programme of activity, with the response from all those attending being extremely complimentary.”

This view was supported by Steve Brambley, director of public affairs at GAMBICA who said: “GAMBICA is delighted to have been a sponsor for the Motion Control Industry Awards. It was inspiring to participate in such a positive celebration of innovation and achievement and above all to recognise the people who make it all happen.”

Further endorsement came from Martin Eldridge, general manager at Parker UK, who said of the awards: “The MCI Awards illustrated the potential of our industry to collaborate for the greater good. In an increasingly competitive global environment, the industry's future success will rely on our ability to develop a pipeline of talented people to drive business forward, and create an environment where they can collaborate effectively.” He added, "Parker and The JCB Academy were delighted to be recognised for our collaboration on the fluid power training facility, which is aimed at inspiring young people to a career in the motion control industry.”

Vanda Jones, executive director at BCAS added: “The awards evening was a perfect way to celebrate all that is good in our industry and to acknowledge some of its achievements. Feedback from our members has been excellent with particular reference being made to the exceptional venue, the beautiful meal, the superb audio visual presentation, and to sharing the sheer delight of those being called up on stage to receive their awards.”

She commented: “It was great to see the lifeblood of our industry being recognised too, with the ‘Young Engineer of the Year’ category providing a good indication as to why a career in the motion control industry should be considered for budding engineers of the future. I am sure the event will be an even bigger success next year with members already asking how they can become finalists, or better still, secure the accolade of category winner. A very successful inaugural event and BCAS now very much look forward the next MCI awards event.”

Alastair Johnstone, managing director at Bosch Rexroth commented: “The MCI Awards was a great event, and a perfect way to celebrate the fantastic achievements made right across the motion control industry. The evening provided an excellent opportunity to network and catch up with old friends. We were proud to not only to be a finalist in the ‘Energy Efficiency’ category, but also delighted to sponsor the ‘Contribution to Skills and Training’ award.”


Technical Innovation of the Year

Winner: Rockwell Automation iTRAK System

Environmental/Energy Efficiency Award

Danfoss Drives for generating surplus power from wastewater treatment.

Project of the Year

Mattei Compressors for supplying reliable, flexible and highly energy efficient compressed air to the CEMEX South Ferriby site.

Manufacturer of the Year


Distributor of the Year


Contribution to Skills & Training

Parker Hannifin and The JCB Academy for the new hydraulic engineering training facility.

Young MC Engineer of the Year

William Broome, Derek Lane & Co.

Lifetime Contribution (BCAS)

Greg Bordiak.

Lifetime Contribution (BFPA)

John Savage, National Fluid Power Centre (NFPC).

Full details on each winner please visit: